Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Weather Siren Reminder

01/22/2020 - Wednesday ----- Repair work is ongoing on the weather sirens in the Louisville area. As a result, the sirens will be tested from time to time. These are only tests. Should there actually be a weather emergency, we will provide updates as needed.

East Central Basketball Teams Swept at Meridian

The East Central Community College basketball teams made the short drive east on I-20 to face MACJC South Division rival Meridian Community College Tuesday, Jan. 21, and came home with a pair of losses.

The Meridian Lady Eagles used a decisive fourth period to pick up a 61-46 win over the Lady Warriors in the opener, while the Eagles came out on top with a hard-fought 87-82 win over the Warriors in the men’s action.

The Lady Eagles broke open a close game by outscoring East Central 19-9 in the fourth period. Meridian led by just one, 29-28, at the half, and by five after three periods.

No East Central player managed to get to double figures in the loss. Sophomore guard Jariyah Covington (Starkville) and sophomore guard/forward KeiMoya Walker (Jackson, Murrah) both had nine to lead the Lady Warriors.

The ECCC Lady Warriors fell to 6-8 overall and 1-4 in the South Division. Meridian is now 5-9 overall and 2-3 in the division.

The Warriors could not capitalize on a 31-point effort by freshman guard Kareem Thompson (Florence) in the five-point loss to Meridian. East Central led by three, 42-39, at the intermission before the Eagles outscored the Warriors by eight in the second half for the victory.

Sophomore forward JaQuarius Smith (Noxubee County) was the only other East Central player in double figures with 15. Smith also led East Central with eight rebounds.

The Warriors are now 6-8 overall and 1-4 in the division. The Meridian Eagles are also 6-8 and 1-4.

The Lady Warriors and Warriors return home to host Hinds at 5:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 23. Both games can be heard on WKOZ Cruisin 98.3 or watched via live stream video at

East Central will travel to Summit to face Southwest in MACJC South Division action Monday, Jan. 27. Those games tipoff at 5:30 p.m. and 7:15 p.m.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

ECCC’s Jariyah Covington Named MACJC Women’s Basketball Player of Week

East Central Community College sophomore guard Jariyah Covington has been selected as the Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges’ Women’s Basketball Player of the Week for her play Jan. 13-19.

A product of Starkville High School, Covington averaged 23.5 points per contest as the Lady Warriors split a pair of games during the week.

She scored 24 points and had five steals in a 56-49 road win at Copiah-Lincoln on Jan. 13. It was East Central’s first win over the Lady Wolves since February 2016.

Covington scored 23 points and had two more steals in a 72-68 home loss to No. 11 ranked Jones College on Jan. 16.

For the two games, Covington shot 53 percent from the floor, 42 percent from beyond the three-point line, and 100 percent from the free throw line. She is averaging 16 points a game this season.

Monday, January 20, 2020

Louisville PD Searching for Armed Robbery Suspects

On the evening of Friday, January 17th, the Dollar General Store on East Main Street in Louisville was robbed at gunpoint by three subjects wearing masks. The suspects fled the scene with an undisclosed amount of money.

The suspects were believed to be in an older model, Toyota Camry. It was grey in color and appeared to have some body damage to the rear of the vehicle.

If you have any information concerning this crime, please contact the Louisville Police Department at 662-773-3511 or Winston County CrimeStoppers at 662-773-9999.

Thursday, January 16, 2020

East Central Basketball Teams Get Much-Needed Division Wins at Co-Lin

The East Central Community College Lady Warriors and Warriors finally got into the win column in MACJC South Division play with a road sweep of Copiah-Lincoln Monday, Jan. 13, in Wesson.

Freshman guard JaMichael Wilson (Rayville, La.) hit a 15-foot running jumper at the buzzer as the Warriors got a dramatic 73-71 win over the Co-Lin Wolves in Graydon L. Mullen Gymnasium on the Co-Lin campus. In the women’s contest that opened the evening the Lady Warriors picked up a 56-49 division win, their first over the Lady Wolves since the 2015-16 season.

The men’s contest was close throughout with 17 lead changes and seven ties. Co-Lin tied the game at 71-71 with a three-point shot with 2.3 seconds to go. East Central quickly inbounded the ball to freshman guard Kareem Thompson (Florence) who found Wilson who banked in the winning shot.

Wilson matched his career-high of 26 points to lead the Warriors. Sophomore forward JaQuarius Smith (Noxubee County) scored 12 points and Thompson added 10.

The Warriors improved to 6-6 overall and 1-2 in the MACJC South Division. The Co-Lin Wolves fell to 5-7 and 0-3.

The ECCC Lady Warriors trailed after each of the first three periods of play, before moving in front 40-38 midway through the fourth period and eventually building a nine-point lead. East Central had lost six straight to the Lady Wolves.

Sophomore guard Jariyah Covington led East Central with a game-high 24 points. Sophomore guard Mylisha Hammond (McComb) added 14 points, with 12 coming in the second half. Hammond also dished out six assists.

With the win, the ECCC Lady Warriors improved to 6-6 overall and 1-2 in the MACJC South Division. The Lady Wolves are now 8-4 and 2-1.

The East Central teams play their first home games of 2020 on Thursday, Jan. 16, when Jones College visits for games at 5:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. in Brackeen-Wood Gym in Decatur. Both games can be heard on WKOZ 98.3 or watched via live stream at

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Presley Warns Public of Increased Social Security Scam Activity

Public Service Commissioner Brandon Presley is alerting the public of increased scam calls claiming to be from the Social Security Administration, many of which are coming from an 844 prefix.

He is urging the public to be cautious about answering unknown numbers, returning calls from unusual numbers, or giving personal information over the phone.

“Scammers continue to prey on our citizens each and every day,” said Commissioner Presley. “While my team continues to do everything they can to bring these criminals to justice, I ask the public to be aware of these scams. Do not give out personal information or transfer money to them over the phone. These calls often sound very official, but they aren’t. They are thieves just trying to steal from hardworking Mississippians.”

If you receive these type of calls, you should report those directly to the Social Security Administration using their online report portal at or by calling 1-800-269-0271.

You may also report scam calls to the Public Service Commission by using the No-Call app for smartphones. The app helps people immediately report calls to the PSC from their cell phones. It can be found by searching “PSC No-Call” in the App Store for Apple devices or Google Play for Android devices. You may also register numbers at or by calling Commissioner Presley’s office at 1-800-637-7722.