Tuesday, March 26, 2013

MACJC All-Star Basketball Games Set March 28 at ECCC

News Release: The state’s top community and junior college basketball players will have an opportunity to showcase their talents when the annual MACJC All-Star Basketball Games are held Thursday, March 28, 2013, at East Central Community College in Decatur.Women’s action begins at 6 p.m. and the men’s contest is set for 8 p.m. in the Brackeen-Wood Physical Education Building. Admission is $5 per person for the NJCAA-sanctioned event.

Both games will also be streamed on the Holmes Community College Web site, www.holmesathletics.ihigh.com.

Members of the South Division women’s team include Vintrice Briggs, Chanta Poole and LaVasha Allen, all of Co-Lin; Jaianah Matthew, Xzandra Dowd and Jakela Johnson, all of East Central; Vandria Dampier, Hinds; Shamekia Hart, Markia Nix and Presley Owens, all of MS Gulf Coast; Daiquiri Raine, Pearl River; and Cassie Berry, Southwest. Toby Bush of Pearl River serves as head coach.

North Division women All-Stars are Bridgett Griffin, Coahoma; Dajah McCarty, East MS; Jessica Miles, Holmes; Ty-Nita Baker, Jasmine Hampton, Ayanna Lynn and Ashley Wiley, all of Itawamba; Shanarika McCullum and Myiesha Stewart, both of MS Delta; Talisa Boyd and Katie Garvin, both of Northeast; and Monique Biggins, Northwest. Brian Alexander of Northeast was selected head coach.

Selected on the South Division men’s squad are Jay Case and Joe Cunningham, both of Copiah-Lincoln; Aquill Baynard, East Central; Dominique Brown and Marcus Hurn, both of Hinds; J.J. Bolton and Donta Pittman, both of Jones County; JaMichael Hawkins and Darius Forest, both of MS Gulf Coast; Frank Snow and Xavian Rimmer, both of Pearl River; and Donovan Ross, Southwest. Richard Mathis of Pearl River serves as head coach.

North Division men All-Stars are Patrick Brown and Alex Thompson, both of Coahoma; Micah Walker, East MS; DeAndre Scott, Holmes; Quintin Lee and Tre’ Wells, both of Itawamba; Anthony McDonald and Karahzion Crawford, both of MS Delta; Acie Vance and KeDorian Sullivan, both of Northeast; and DeMarcus McVay and Charles Eaton, both of Northwest. David Robbins of Northeast will serve as head coach.

For more information, contact Crandal Porter, ECCC Lady Warrior head coach, 601-6243 or call toll free, 877-462-3222, ext. 243. His e-mail address is cporter@eccc.edu