Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Winston Co Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa at ECCC

The above students from Winston County were recently inducted into Theta Xi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of the two-year college, at East Central Community College. Induction ceremonies were held Thursday, Feb. 6, on the Decatur campus. Inductees and their hometowns include (front row, from left) Cara Jackson, Kayla Covington, Madelyn Peterson, Jenna Lovorn and Brooke Richardson, all of Louisville; and Haley Pierce, Noxapater; and (back row, from left) Alex Bucklew, Brody Richardson, Bryan Burton and Zachary Allen, all of Louisville; and Colton Horne, Noxapater. More than 75 students joined the prestigious organization, whose mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. To qualify, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree and must have a grade point average of 3.5. Career-Technical counselor Amanda Walton and instructors Chris Ryals and Jenna Wright serve as advisers.