Saturday, April 26, 2014

DARE Graduation and List of Award Winners

More than 200 students from Louisville, Winston Academy,
Noxapater and Nanih Waiya graduated from the DARE program on Friday, (April 25) at the Louisville Elementary Auditorium. The ceremony was opened with a Pledge of Allegiance led by local scouts, the presentation of colors by JROTC from Louisville High, The song "America" by Mrs. Hollingshead's 5th Grade Singers and the welcome was given by Aryanna Lyons, a 5th grade DARE Student.

Students and parents heard encouragement from local leaders including Tonya McWhirter, Louisville Police Department Dare Officer, Police Chief L.M. Claiborne, Sheriff Jason Pugh and Mayor Pro-Tem Eugene Crosby.

The guest speaker for the event was Major Andrew S. Rendon, an Afghanistan veteran and the Mississippi State Assistant Dean of Student Affairs. Rendon's message to the students was "Remember this Day" when faced with peer pressure and temptations to use and abuse drugs, alcohol and tobacco.

Students and classrooms were recognized  as essay winners,star students, student of the year and graffiti winners. A slide show of photos of the event will follow this article.The awards are indicated below:

Essay Winners

Noxapater Schools
Mrs. Swearingen:
Jada McMichael

Louisville Elementary Schools
Mrs. Chandler:
Arianna Gill

Mrs. Matzek:
Clayton Maury

Ms. Menniger:
DeShawn Rush

Mrs. Horne:
Erin Rivers

Ms. Bush:
Shane Weeks

Ms. Winters:
Kierra Long

Nanih Waiya Schools
Mrs. Hampton:
Harley Smith

Mrs. Holdiness:
Ashley Clark

Winston Academy
Mrs. Rogers:
Celena Wyatt

Mrs. Lowery:
Jace Hudspeth

Star Students

Noxapater Schools
Adrianna Goss

Louisville Elementary
Cori Nash

Nanih Waiya Schools
Jacob Ingram

Winston Academy
Ramsey Roberts

Students of the Year

Noxapater Schools
Bryan Glass

Louisville Elementary
Shane Weeks

Nanih Waiya Schools
John Tabor Stokes

Winston Academy
Gage Morgan

Graffiti Winners

First Place--Mrs. Horne's Class-Louisville Elementary
Rise Above Drugs

Second Place--Mrs. Lowery's Class-Winston Academy

Third Place--Tie--Ms. Bush's Class-Louisville Elementary
Rise to be Drug Free
                      Ms. Menninger's Class-Louisville Elementary
We Are Too Cool For Drugs

Honorable Mentions

1. Mrs. Hampton's Class-Nanih Waiya-Give Drugs The Boot

2. Mrs. Holdiness' Class-Nanih Waiya-Homerun For D.A.R.E

3. Mrs. Swearingen's Class-Noxapater-D.A.R.E.