Tuesday, April 8, 2014

MAS-MC Conference to Be Held This Week at Lake Tiak O'Khata - Deuce McAllister Scheduled to Speak

The Mississippi Association of Supervisors Minority Caucus Educational Conference  is scheduled this week
NFL Great Deuce McAllister
at Lake Tiak O'Khata with the main events planned for Thursday, April 10. Winston County Supervisor Gloria Turnipseed has been instrumental in promoting the event in our area and encouraging local youth to apply for scholarship funds through the Association.

A prayer breakfast at 8:00 am will be led by guest speaker Bobby Bolton, a noon luncheon will feature Representative Tyrone Ellis as the guest speaker and the day will culminate in the Educational Scholarship Banquet at the Pine Ridge Lodge at 6:00 pm.

The Banquet does cost $20/person and includes the meal and dance. Ole Miss and New Orleans Saint great Duece McAllister is scheduled to speak and the local band Deja Vu Show Band will perform.

The Educational Banquet highlights the MAS-MC's scholarship program available to graduating high school seniors. To be eligible, applicants must be accepted for admission to a technical, school, community college, or university within the State of Mississippi.

A total of fourteen (14) scholarships will be awarded, Each award will be $1000 and will be given only once. Three (3) students will be selected from each of the four Congressional Districts within the state of Mississippi. After these twelve (12) students are selected, the scholarship committee will select two (2) at large selected from any district within the state of Mississippi. MAS-MC will also give a one-time scholarship of $1000 to these winners. Each scholarship award will be assigned to both the student and the institution that the recipient attends.

Students interested in applying for these scholarships can download an application form and find more information athttp://www.mssupervisors.org/minority-caucus/scholarship . Awards will be given in June 2014. Deadline for completed application to be received by the scholarship committee is April 15, 2014.