Monday, June 16, 2014

LMSD Honors Mentors in the District

The Louisville Municipal School District took the opportunity in their regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday to recognize the local mentors for the District’s dropout prevention program. Local mentors volunteer to work with students during the school day.

These volunteers go to Louisville Elementary, Eiland Middle School, and to Noxapater to assist students who may be at risk now or in the future. These mentors must pass a background check and are matched with students based upon a series of criteria.

“The mentors provide social, emotional, behavioral and school support for students helping to bridge the gap between home and school.” says Dr. Nola Bryant of LMSD.

Currently mentors are working with students from the fifth through the eighth grade.

Mentors recognized by the board include: Chasidy Goodwin, Georgia Felicien, Roy McDaniel, Terron Neil, Jeffery Davis, Lillie Holman, Rosie Harris, David Harris, Anthony McIntosh, Mack Young, Joe Glass, Janice Hopkins and Elmore Coleman.