Thursday, July 17, 2014

ECCC Warrior Golf Classic Nets $10,000 in Student Scholarships

Golfers representing SouthGroup Cox in Carthage claimed the championship trophy but students are once again the real winners following the 13th annual East Central Community College Warrior Golf Classic held earlier this summer at the Dancing Rabbit Golf Club, located on the Pearl River Resort in Choctaw.

Sponsored by the ECCC Alumni Association, the four-person scramble netted $9,850 for student scholarships, according to event coordinator Dr. Stacey Hollingsworth, executive director for Foundation and Alumni Relations at ECCC in Decatur.

“We want to thank all participants and sponsors for another successful Warrior Golf Classic,” said Dr. Hollingsworth. “Net proceeds from the tournament provide much-needed and appreciated scholarships for very worthy students. We truly appreciate the support received the past 13 years and encourage others to participate in this worthwhile event.”

The SouthGroup Cox team posted an 18-under par 54 in the 18-hole event, held on the Oaks Course. Team members include Bob Jordan of Kosciusko, and Pat Hardage, Jimmie Bell and Jimmy Brown, all of Carthage.

Finishing second with a 56 was the Howard Industries team, whose members included Rusty Thoms of Madison, Michael Green of Starkville and Gordon McClokey and Shane Lowrimore, both of Hattiesburg.

Southern Pine Electric Power Association placed third, also with a 56. Team members were Chad Lewis and Jason Mangum, both of Decatur; and Lake Thoms and Hank Thoms, both of Newton.

Also competing in the championship flight were Community Bank (Tim Leitaker of Carthage, Steve Gibson of Forest, and Ray Riley and Gary Jolly, both of Madison), 58; First Financial Bank Team #1 (Brad Ogletree of Carthage and Jerry Bullard, Melissa Jerry and Chris Hegi, all of El Dorado, Arkansas, 58; Polo Custom Products (Casse Carpenter of Ackerman and Chris Covington, Tyler Moffitt and Tanner Long, all of Louisville), 59; and the Chris Harris Team (Dr. Billy Stewart, Chris Harris and Cole Harris, all of Decatur; and Barry Boatner of Meridian), 60.


Junction Team # 1 took top honors in the second flight with a 60. Team members included Neil Pettigrew and Ryan Jenkins, both of Philadelphia; Denise Hollingsworth of Forest; and Joey Walters of Union. IN Sports, Inc. (Greg Nowell and Jim Eakes, both of Philadelphia; Wes Kight of Louisville; and Andy Woidtke of Canton) placed second with a 60. Finishing third was Junction Team # 2 (J.B. Ware of Union, Wayne Heilbronner of Kosciusko, Mark Fleming of Philadelphia and Larry Hollingsworth of Forest), with a 61. Also competing in the second flight were First Financial Bank Team #2 (Gayden Bell, Terry Thomas and Van Ray Bowman, all of Carthage; and Steve Cameron of Hot Springs, Arkansas), 62; Milton Walker and Associates, Inc. (Milton Walker, Larry Dale and Jay Ott, all of Brandon; and Haywood Reeves of Forest), 63; Trustmark Bank (Doug Daly, Lance Duncan, Wright Griffis and Justin Webb, all of Philadelphia), 64; and PCA (Melanie Roland and Ken Ricketts, both of Brandon; Donnie Crabtree, Morton; and Steven Tyson, Pearl), 64.


Industrial Training Solutions won the third flight with a 65. Team members included Chris Crawford, Ridgeland; Roger Whitlock, Union; and Chris Clark and Joe Barrett, both of Decatur. La-Z-Boy Team #2 (Ronnie Poythress, Meridian; Dustin Yeager and Kevin Rigdon, both of Union; and Troy Simmons, Newton) finished second with a 68. The Citizens Bank of Philadelphia and Neshoba County General Hospital team (Camp Keith, Hickory; Bruce Lee, Louisville; Dale Joyner, Philadelphia; and Johnny Crenshaw, Union) placed third with a 68. Other third flight participants were ESCO Corporation (Trent Floyd, Brandon; Percy Pearson and James Kiker, both of Decatur; and Andy Rowzee, Hickory), 69; Sequel Electrical Supply LLC and ECCC (Duane Ashmore, Collinsville; Artie Foreman, Little Rock; Sean Mowdy, Union; and Tim Pilgrim, Philadelphia), 72; Mississippi Power Company (Eddie Kelly and Kevin Thrash, both of Meridian; and Tommy Jackson, Lauderdale), 72; La-Z-Boy Team # 1 (Danny Simoneau, Louin; Tom Keith and Chris Davis, both of Decatur; and Randy Loper, Rose Hill), 72; and Valley Services, Inc. (Tau Iosia, Meridian; Marty Puckett and Randy Roberts, both of Brandon; and Truman Abbe, Ridgeland;), 73.


Participants who won various on-course competitions and were presented ECCC golf bags included Rusty Thoms (Howard Industries) of Madison; Bob Jordan (SouthGroup Cox) of Kosciusko; Chris Covington and Tanner Long (Polo Custom Products), both of Louisville. Chris Hegi (First Financial Bank Team # 1), of El Dorado, Arkansas, won the Drive the Middle contest, sponsored by Birdies for Charity, and received a gift certificate.


La-Z-Boy team member Kevin Rigdon of Union won the La-Z-Boy recliner.


Gold Corporate sponsors included Community Bank (Forest), SouthGroup Cox (Carthage), ESCO Corporation (Newton), First Financial Bank (Carthage), Howard Industries (Laurel), Industrial Training Solutions (Madison), IN Sports, Inc. (Philadelphia), La-Z-Boy South (Newton), Milton Walker and Associates, Inc. (Brandon), Mississippi Power Company (Newton), Southern Pine Electric Power Association (Newton), Trustmark Bank (Carthage), Tyson Foods, Inc. (Forest) and Valley Services, Inc. (Jackson).

Silver Corporate sponsors were The Citizens Bank of Philadelphia and Neshoba County General Hospital in Philadelphia.

Bronze Corporate sponsors include B&G Equipment, Inc. (Philadelphia), Bank of Forest, State Senator Terry C. Burton (Newton), Greg and Flo Henley (Starkville), John O’Neil Johnson Motor Company (Meridian), Long’s Building Materials, Inc. (Decatur), Old Mexico of Philadelphia, LLC, Popeyes/Vaughn Brothers, Inc. (Forest and Philadelphia) and Jeanette B. Thrash (Decatur).

Team sponsors were Junction (Philadelphia), La-Z-Boy South (Newton), PCA (Pearl), Polo Custom Products, Inc. (Louisville) and Sequel Electrical Supply LLC (Meridian),

T-shirt sponsors included Bowell Media (Kosciusko), Marshall Ford Co., Inc. (Union), Dr. Craig Martin (Philadelphia), Sam M. Nowell/State Farm Insurance (Philadelphia), State Representative Randy Rushing (Decatur), Union Discount Drugs and Watkins, Ward and Stafford (Philadelphia).

Drive the Middle Contest sponsor was Birdies for Charity (Jackson).

Food and beverages provided by Jerald and Rita Everett (Clinton) and Valley Services, Inc. (Jackson).

Prizes provided by Auto Zone (Newton), BankPlus (Newton), John Boutwell (Clinton), Cheryl L. Comans (Cleveland), ECCC Alumni Association, ECCC Warrior Golf Team, Flo Henley (Starkville), Pete Lucovich (Carthage), Mississippi Department of Transportation (Newton), Newton County Bank, Strebeck’s (Newton), Jeanette Thrash (Decatur) and Walmart (Newton).

For more information, contact Dr. Stacey Holingsworth,601-635-6327 or call toll free, 877-462-3222, ext. 327. Her email address is