Monday, November 24, 2014

Winston Academy's Tyler Sullivan Nominated for Conerly Trophy

Louisville's own Tyler Sullivan joins an elite group of athletes
nominated for the C Spire Conerly Trophy given each year to the outstanding college football player in the state of Mississippi.

Sullivan, a Winston Academy graduate, is the sophomore quarterback for Delta State. Sullivan was named 2013 Gulf South Conference Freshman of the Year and is a two-time All-GSC selection. Sullivan has passed for 3,098 yards on 247-of-382 pass attempts with 24 touchdowns. He also has 193 yards rushing and seven touchdowns. Sullivan has thrown touchdowns in nine of 10 games this year.  Sullivan recorded season-highs in completion, attempts, and yards in a 41-of-64 performance for 502 yards in a road victory against Valdosta State. Sullivan also tossed five touchdowns on the road at Florida Tech.

Sullivan leads the GSC in most  major passing categories. He leads the GSC with 309.8 yards passing per game.

Sullivan joins the following athletes as nominees:Mississippi Valley State receiver Julian Stafford, Alcorn State quarterback John Gibbs Jr., Millsaps defensive end Zach Bell,  Southern Miss defensive end Dasman McCullum, Jackson State receiver Daniel Williams, Mississippi College defensive back Dylan Klibert and Belhaven receiver Greg Livingston, Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott and Ole Miss cornerback Senquez Golson.

The winner will be announced Dec. 2 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.