Friday, March 20, 2015

ECCC Hosts MACJC All-Star Basketball Games April 10

East Central Community College in Decatur is again serving as host site for the annual MACJC (Mississippi Association of Community and Junior Colleges) All-Star Basketball Games.

This year’s event is set for Friday, April 10. The women’s contest begins at 5 p.m. and will be followed by the men’s matchup at the Brackeen-Wood Physical Education Building.

Members of the South Division women’s squad are Claresa Banks and Tyra Gibson, both of Copiah-Lincoln; Tynika Bender and Jaleshia Jones, both of East Central; Sh’Nika Smith, Hinds; Starla Daggans and Kadie Parker, both of Jones; Miaya Crowder and Londyn Thomas, both of Meridian; Kalynn Smith, MS Gulf Coast; Essence Pulliam, Pearl River; and Talisa Sherman, Southwest.Alternates are Shakerya Morrison and Tashi-Ana Thompson, both of East Central; and Alyson Johnson of Jones.

Gwyn Young of Copiah-Lincoln will serve as head coach.

South Division men’s team includes Terry Morris of Copiah-Lincoln; Quinton Campbell of East Central; LaDarrius Drain, Hinds; Bryce Jones, Chris White and Otis Harvey, all of Jones; Brandon Daniels, Meridian; Jamarri Johnson, Michael Lewis and Justin Coleman, all of MS Gulf Coast; and Jaylen Moore and Trent Jeffries, both of Southwest.

Alternates are Jordan Lumpkins of Co-Lin; Kristian Clark of East Central; and Rodrique Palmer of Jones.

Kenny Bizot of Copiah-Lincoln will serve as head coach.

Members of the North Division women’s team are Erica Collins, Coahoma; Bethany Lytle and Tekevanna Young, both of Northwest; Jayla Chills, Kaelin Kneeland and Jeronia Allen, all of Itawamba; Aushiana Ivy and Daisha Williams, both of Northeast; Carmesha Nalls and LaShonda Wilson, both of Holmes; Alecha Gibbs, East MS; and Niya Head, MS Delta.

Alternates include Ashley Johnson, East MS; Jasmine Allen, Northeast; and Lanikki McMillian, Itawamba.

Danetra Forrest of Coahoma Community College will serve as head coach.

North Division men’s squad includes Cameron Monix, Coahoma; Sharwyn McGee and De’Sean Dockery, both of Northwest; Austin Timms and Lakee Westbrook, both of Itawamba; Dimario Jackson and Dexter Stafford, both of Northeast; Marcus Washington and Jarvis Williams, both of Holmes; Antonio Finley and Shelvick Henry, Jr., both of East MS; and Darius Duke, MS Delta.

Alternates are Zamarius Griffin, MS Delta; Kevis Fleming, Itawamba; and Chris Rhoney, East MS.

Ira Peterson of Coahoma will serve as head coach.

The MACJC All-Star Basketball Games will be streamed at Access is also available on the ECCC website,

For more information, contact ECCC head basketball coaches Crandal Porter (601-635-6372, or Robert Thompson (601-635-6370,