Sunday, April 19, 2015

Dare Graduation Winners

Fifth grade students from Louisville, Winston Academy,
Noxapater and Nanih Waiya graduated from the DARE program on Friday, (April 17 ) at the Louisville Elementary Auditorium. The ceremony was opened with a Pledge of Allegiance led by DARE officer Tonya McWhirter, the presentation of colors by JROTC from Louisville High, The National Anthem was performed by by Mrs. Hollingshead's 5th Grade Singers and the welcome was given by Keeghan Ashford, a DARE student.

Students and parents heard encouragement from local leaders including Tonya McWhirter, Louisville Police Department Dare Officer, Police Chief L.M. Claiborne, and Mayor Will Hill.

The guest speaker for the event was Jeff Killion, Captain, Oxford District of the Mississippi Bureau of Narcotics.

Killion spoke of his own experiences with his children and reminded the students that there was strength in numbers. "Push for what's right. Always choose right even if it means losing a friend." 

Jeff Killion, Captain,
Oxford District of the Mississippi
 Bureau of Narcotics
Killion also addressed the parents and their role in their childrens ' lives and drug education.

Students and classrooms were recognized  as essay winners, star students, student of the year and graffiti winners. The awards are indicated below:

Essay Winners 

Noxapater Schools
Ms. Swearingen
D.J Kelly

Mrs. Adams
Bayla Eubanks

Louisville Elementary Schools

Mrs. Chandler
Mykymia Wilson

Mrs. Bonkowski
Kaylee Tullos

Ms. Bush
Darius Hickman

Ms. Spiers
Zachary Windham

Je'Leia Hathorn

Mrs. White
Isaiah Frazier

Mrs. Winters
Tyquon Hudson

Mrs. Ward
Makayla Paty

Nanih Waiya Schools

Mrs. McDaniel
Allison Bostick

Mrs. Holdiness
Hailey Simpson

Winston Academy

Ms. Rogers
Merievelyn Kent

Mrs. Lowrey
Brylee Wall

Star Students

Noxapater Schools
Elizabeth Atkinson

Louisville Elementary
Kaylee Frazier

Nanih Waiya Schools
William "Billy" Russell

Winston Academy
Cooper Lane Sanders

Students of the Year

Noxapater Schools
Aaron Lampley

Louisville Elementary
Legolas Cistrunck

Nanih Waiya Schools
Lauren Smith

Winston Academy 
Carley Peterson

Graffiti Winners

First Place- Mrs. Lowrey's Class
Winston Academy
I Tune Out Drugs

Second Place- Mrs. White's Class
Louisville Elementary
Dare To Take The Right Path

Third Place- Mrs.Holdiness' Class
Nanih Waiya
Keep Calm & Dare Don't Do Drugs
Mrs. Chandler Class
Louisville Elementary
Don't Get Caught in The Web Of Drugs

Honorable Mentions

Ms. Winter's Class- L.E
Striving To Be A Drug Free World

Mrs. Fondren's Class- L.E
There Is No Need

Tie-Mrs. Bonkowski's Class L.E
Strike 1,2,3 You Are Out