Friday, April 3, 2015

ECCC To Host East Central MS High School All-Star Game

East Central Community College will host the inaugural East Central Mississippi High School All-Star Basketball Games Thursday, April 9, in the Brackeen-Wood Physical Education Building on the Decatur campus.

The women’s contest begins at 6 p.m. and will be followed by the men’s match-up at 7:30 p.m. Admission is $7 for adults and $5 for students.

ECCC men’s basketball coach Robert Thompson said, “We are fortunate to have many gifted athletes in our district and this event will allow us to showcase those talents and reward them for outstanding play this season.”

Participants will be divided into North and South teams, based on the location of their schools.

Members of the South women’s squad and their respective high
schools are Holly Hendershot, Scott Central; Kim Maira Jackson, Forest; Chante Deering and Chelsi White, both of Morton; Dana Brown, Tan Lloyd and Jacara Hillie, all of Newton; Kaylor Davis and Destiny Snapp, both of Newton County; Shadejha Brown, Lake; Alexis Burks, Sebastopol; and Markita Tripplet, Neshoba Central.

Fredrick Morris of Neshoba Central will serve as head coach.

South men’s team members include Joe Young and Patavius Luckett, both of Forest; Devonta Jones, Morton; Dartaevis Bender and C.J. Edwards, both of Newton; Issiah Lewis and Quinn Jones, both of Newton County; Chance Collins and Seth McCormick, both of Newton Academy; Kartavious Hunt, Lake; and Zach Johnson, Lamar Christian.

Jerry Byrd of Neshoba Central will serve as head coach.

Members of the North women’s team are Diamond Love, Louisville; Darby Nowell and Katie McCool, both of Winston Academy; Amechia Carter and K.J. Peebles, both of Philadelphia; Renaysia Polk, Choctaw Central; Jaycie Malone, Leake Academy; Lakellie Body and Jayla Johnson, both of Leake County; and Sharissa Jefferson, Jaterrica Waters and Kierra Mann, all of Leake Central.

Marcus Luckett of Newton will serve as head coach.

North men’s squad includes Roderick James, Louisville; She’Chem Grant and Steven Leach, both of Choctaw Central; Corey Wilder, Leake Central; Tyshaun Andrew and A’Darian Beamon, both of Leake County; Malik Thompson, Union; Josh Crutcher, Sebastopol; Channon Wilson, Neshoba Central; and Kendarrius Cook, Leake County.

Steve Harber of Newton County will serve as head coach.

For more information, contact ECCC head basketball coaches Crandal Porter (601-635-6372, or Robert Thompson (601-635-6370,