Friday, April 15, 2016

ECCC Hosts Second Annual High School All-Star Basketball Games

East Central Community College hosted the second annual East Central Mississippi High School All-Star Basketball Games Thursday, April 14, in the Brackeen-Wood Gym on the Decatur campus.Participants were divided into North and South teams, based on the location of their schools.The South girls’ team beat the North girls’ team in a late comeback, 58-53.

Members of the South girls’ squad and their respective high schools were Shamiyah Bobbitt and Ambriyana Roberts, both of Scott Central; Nautica Moore, Forest; Inekia Bowie, Vertreuna Harris and Brandy Watson, all of Morton; Shamiya Hardy, Rajah Hodges and Autumn Taylor, all of Newton; Kaylin McCree, Newton County; Ashia Harris and Jabreshia Ickom, both of Lake; and Zantavia Glenn and Quentesha Jones, both of Laurel. Pam Winstead of Union High School served as the head coach of the South girls.

Members of the North girls’ team were Miriah Ford, Louisville; Hannah Arthur, Pharrah Butler, Kelsi Gill and Xiandria Patrick, all of Sebastopol; Isabella Fulton, Philadelphia; Kyree Ben and Tiara Joe, both of Choctaw Central; Tia Larkin and Timara Trussell, both of Southeast Lauderdale; Mackenzie Johnson and Ashlie Thames, both of Nanih Waiya; and Teanna Moore, Leake Central.

Tyler Sparks of Leake Central High School served as the head coach of the North girls.South team’s, Nautica Moore was the MVP of the girls’ battle with 22 points. Autumn Taylor and Teanna Moore have signed to play at East Central next season.

This year, a group of local coaches and members of the media helped select an All-District Team. The selections for 2015-16 included Ashlie Thames, Teanna Moore, Timara Trussell, Autumn Taylor and Pharrah Butler. For the boys, the North team beat the South, 76-61.

The North boys’ squad included Jordan Miller, Louisville; Byrce Billy, Harvey McMillian Jr. and Tayshaun Mingo, both of Choctaw Central; Antonio Clark, Deon LeFlore and Achille Tasiaux, all of Leake Central; Isaiah Eiland and Ken McQueen, both of Nanih Waiya; Aaron Smith, Scott Central; and Jaquan Dotson and CJ Ruffin, both of Neshoba Central.

Neshoba Central High School’s Jerry Byrd served as the head coach of the North boys.

South boys’ team members included Demichael Chesser, Tre Pinkston and Howard Smith, all of Forest; Kolby Lloyd, Morton; Isaiah Edwards and DeAngelo Flowers, both of Newton; DeRyan Wansley, Newton County; Jacob Beckham and Markel Jones, both of Sebastopol; Tjay Gray and Laroderick Lyles, both of Lake; and Connor Breland, Union.

Darrin Gray of Newton High School served as the head coach of the South boys.The MVP of the boys’ action was Jaquan Dotson with 16 points. CJ Ruffin also put up 16 points for the North team.
The All-District Boys Team included Jaquan Dotson, CJ Ruffin, Antonio Clark, Howard Smith and Isaiah Edwards.

“We thought it was a very successful event last night. A lot of local high school players were able to showcase their talents,” said East Central head men’s basketball coach Robert Thompson. “We are so blessed to have some of those players to join our teams here.”

The boys’ game featured three East Central men’s basketball signees: Antonio Clark, Jaquan Dotson and CJ Ruffin.