Saturday, September 14, 2019

Don’t Miss 2019 ECCC Wall O’ Sound Halftime Show “Guido’s Last Stand”

Members of the 2019-20 East Central Community College Wall O’ Sound Band include (first row, from left) Jasmin McDonald, Olivia Adams, Hanna McKinion, Shaela Roberts, Nina Moore, Maggie Lott, Tori Seale, Chloe Gressett, Abby Null, Alexis Gaines, and Kaitlyn Kyzar; (second row, from left) Luke Wall, Sarah Sanders, Carly Greenwood, Tiara Dawkins, Kayleigh Sellers, Jasmin Brooks, Lydia Bishop, Amberlee Akin, Megan Boulton, and Jorian Jackson; (third row, from left) Victoria Wright, Tykeia Hathorn, Janiya Palm, Jamiah Bloodsaw, Helen McGee, Tristan Sanderson, Jesmy Bravo, Amy Salvador, Destiny McKee, Destiny Parrott, Magen Burnham, Abigail Clarke, Katelyn Massey, and Kolton Peyson; (fourth row, from left) Abbie Newell, Lauren Bounds, Anson Deering, Olivia Ferguson, Jeremy Boler, Lexi Hannah, Kelly Rosas, Ashley Marin, Katelyn Frederick, Alison Watson, Cameo Odom, Kaitlyn Irwin, and Lakenya Triplett; (fifth row, from left) Dakota Brown, Robert Ward, Kyle Skinner, Allison Pickle, Lillie Chapman, Angel Mondragon, Cheyenne Brown, Hannah Blythe, Dalton Fayette, Lauren Gilmer, Katie Evans, Dakota McMiller, Lauren Foley, and Hannah Mitchell ; (sixth row, from left) Danielle Copeland, Sophie Wilkerson, Jon Collins, Ethen Nicholson, Timothy Johnson, Na’Tya Smith, Maiya Campbell, Taylor Smith, Kyle Jensen, Richard Kienle, Jacob Crout, Crystal Pierce, and Rhianna Gentry; (seventh row, from left) Kaitlyn Goforth, Ashton Massey, Khamiyah Walker, Mason Rover, Jamerius Clemons, Taylor Goss, Britney Patten, Wesley Akins, Martez Nichols, Josh Mitchell, Jovani Mondragon, and Naziah Gunn; (eighth row, from left) Madyson Warren, Destinie Lloyd, Ethan Gentry, Zack Malone, Mitch Gentry, Cameron Jackson, LaDarrious Washington, Jacolby Jenkins, Zane McElhenney, Taylor Clark, and Camille Dixon; (ninth row, from left) Anilya Lindsey, Asa Keats, Chris Johnson, Samantha Olmedo, Giuliana Donato, Emily Williams, Keely Spears, Lauren Baysinger, Emma Long, Shakia Norman, Kaitlyn Morris, and Justina Dixon; (tenth row, from left) Genesis Lyons, Christopher Windham, Evan Miles, Audry Pugh, Zach McLain, Kirsten Loper, Lance Sanders, Ethan Wysocki, Japheth John, Harper Todd, Juiliann Pohlig, Camilla Addy, and Alex Evans; and (back row, from left) Connor Phillipson, Angel Kelly, Malachi Beasley, Jeremy Collins, A’Dontay Williams, Roderick Edwards, Jerry Davidson, Ciara Viverette, and Denniah Campbell. (EC Photo)

After 37 years as a music educator, Ed Girling is bowing out in style as his 2019 East Central Community College Wall O’ Sound Marching Band presents “Guido’s Last Stand” for its halftime show.

Director Ed Girling said, “This is the final show I will design. I have taken some favorite tunes from past shows here and my other schools and even tunes that I have arranged for other groups. This is a show that audiences will want to experience again and again.”

Tunes include “Wanted Dead or Alive” by Bon Jovi, “Children of Sanchez” by Chuck Mangione, “Secret Agent Man” by Johnny Rivers, “Play that Funky Music” by Wild Cherry, “Kiss from a Rose” by Seal, and “We are the Champions” by Queen, among others.

The band performs at halftime of all ECCC home football games. In addition, the full band will travel to Scooba on Sept. 26 to perform at halftime of the East Central vs. East Mississippi Community College football game. A Pep Band travels to all away games.

The 2019 Wall O’ Sound features 137 musicians and auxiliary members from the college’s district of Leake, Neshoba, Newton, Scott and Winston counties, as well as other towns throughout the state.

In addition to Girling, staff members include assistant director Zach Langley, Centralette coordinator Tayler Stephens, color guard coordinator Stacey Sanders and percussion coordinator Malcolm McBride.

For more information on how to become a member of the Wall O’ Sound, contact Girling at 601-635-6123 or email

Members of the 2019-20 East Central Community College Centralettes dance line and their respective high schools include (front row, from left) Tiara Dawkins, Newton County; Nina Moore, Newton County; Shaela Roberts, Enterprise; Hanna McKinion, Nanih Waiya; Amberlee Akin, West Lauderdale; Alexis Gaines, Newton County; Chloe Gressett, Newton County; Megan Boulton, Newton County; and Lydia Bishop, Sebastopol; and (back row, from left) Maggie Lott, Clinton; Sarah Sanders, Newton County; Jasmin Brooks, Newton County; Abby Elizabeth Null, West Lauderdale; Olivia Adams, Neshoba Central; Tori Seale, Neshoba Central; Carly Greenwood, Neshoba Central; and Kayleigh Sellers Neshoba Central. Tayler Stephens serves as coordinator (EC Photo)

Submitted by: Maria McLeod