Tuesday, March 3, 2020

ECCC Students Inducted into Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

These East Central Community College students were recently inducted into Theta Xi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of two-year colleges. Inductees and their hometowns include (front row, from left) Aza Burton, Philadelphia; Jasmin Brooks, Collinsville; Emily Williams, Union; Aterykah Hughes, Nina Miles, Haven Moorehead, and Beth Davidson, all of Sebastopol; Hannah Dufault, Hurley; Sidney Rone, Ethel; Gracey Baucom, Purvis; Seniya Triplett, Louisville; Shelby McNeece and Whit Lee, both of Morton; Savannah Jones, Philadelphia; and Destinie Lloyd, Morton; (second row, from left) Anna Terry, Brandon; Malina Mangrum, Philadelphia; Ansley Rigby and Lauren Bounds, both of Union; Cortland Baker and Glory Richardson, both of Louisville; Ali Grace Walker, Decatur; Courtney Gill, Carthage; Natalia Beltran, Bogota, Colombia; Anna Claire Bucklew and Anna Claire Morgan, both of Lousiville; Alana McMullan, Decatur; Daelyn Kell, Ocean Springs; Terace Donaldson, Jackson; Kravon Willis, Choctaw; and A’miracle May, Newton; (third row, from left) Bryce Waggoner, Carthage; Riley Jones, Noxapater; Gannon Meek, Louisville; Garret Nelson, Little Rock; Kiel Reed and Jaydon Gibson, both of Brandon; Susanne Stevison, Long Beach; Allan Freeny, Carthage; Thomas Webster, Meridian; Vanessa Martinez, Kosciusko; Brian Pace, Collinsville; Kelsea Archer, Purvis; India Samuel, Philadelphia; and Erika Jordan, Lousiville; and (back row, from left) Brian Runnels, Morton; Jasmine McDonald, Union; Angel Mondragon, Forest; Jorian Jackson, Morton; Lauren Ben, Philadelphia; Joseph Anderson, Carthage; Leah Anderson, Leyland, United Kingdom; Dylan Grantham, Morton; Jamion Johnson, Philadelphia; Danielle Copeland, Pulaski; Genesis Lyons, Decatur; Kolton Peyson, Conway, Ark.; and Rhianna Gentry, Hickory. More than 80 students joined the prestigious organization, whose mission is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service and fellowship programming. To qualify, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework that may be applied to an associate degree and must have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Director of Housing and Student Activities Dr. Amanda Walton, Mathematics Instructor Jenna Wright and Dean of Students James Miller serve as advisers. (EC Photo)